2019 shortlist
page-template-default,page,page-id-2643,page-child,parent-pageid-1809,bridge-core-1.0.4,ajax_updown_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode_grid_1300,qode-theme-ver-18.0.9,qode-theme-bridge,disabled_footer_top,disabled_footer_bottom,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.0.3,vc_responsive

2019 shortlist

Everyone on the longlist for this year’s Picture Book Prize produced a story of brilliant quality. Decisions were very tricky, but in the end, we arrived at the following shortlist.

A very huge congratulations to:

Matt Byrne – Why The Sky Is Blue

Tracy Curran – The Teapot Genie

Phil Dillon – A Bundle of Fluff Isn’t Nearly Enough

Peter Frederick – My Sheep Are Asleep

Fiona Harding – Badger on the Beach

Lorna Lee – Bella’s Bicycle

Stacey Miller – Punkerella

Alison Padley-Woods – More Cheese Please!

Kael Tudor – One Goose, Two Moose

David Wadsworth – A Is For Octopus

Kathryn WIlliams – From Little Acorns

So excited for you all! And sending huge encouragement to all the longlisters who didn’t make the shortlist this year. Remember, as well as having criteria to meet, the selection process is also subjective – we had to choose, and some stories the judges connected with more. Enter again next year! And don’t forget to proudly add your longlist news on your cover letters and Twitter bios. You did great.

Shortlisters: many congratulations! You’re through to the next – and final – round! Feedback will follow, but may not be with you until the New Year.